racists

Racists! Yuck!

I was talking to a friend of mine and we got into talking about singers…

She: I don’t like Ye Lay anymore….

I: Why?!?!

She: People say he’s a Muslim…

I: …. but he says he’s a Kayin Buddhist…

She: he’s lying….

I: Whatever… I don’t care whether he’s a Muslim or Christian or Buddhist… He has a great voice and he’s soo good-looking… So I don’t care even if he worships spirits, ok?

That shut her up….

I was abit speechless… It’s no secret that there’s racism in Myanmar about Muslims… It’s really appalling.. While I take pride in my country having churches, mosques and Buddhist monasteries in the same area, or at least in the same quarter, people have such animosity towards people who doesn’t worship the same religion as them. Sure, take pride in what you worship; you can believe that your religion is the best in the world, but you don’t have to go dissing other people just because they worship different Gods or other Beings. It’s despiteful.

I have friends from different religions… My friends are Buddhists, Muslims, Christians, Hindus, and some who doesn’t believe in any religion at all. I never dissed their religion. Sometimes, we’ll discuss about our own religions, and then we got to know more about other religions that are in the world. I believe that the basic foundation in any religion is having good morals and doing good deeds for other people. It is about having faith and being a good person. I am a Buddhist, and I’m proud of being a Buddhist, but I do not tell others, “My religion is the best in the world.” I believe that every religion have their own aspects that make them all the best.

Anyways… what I was saying was just because Ye Lay was a Muslim, that doesn’t mean you should stop watching his shows or stop buying his albums or something. I think that some jealous people spread that rumor so that those racist people would not like him anymore. Be fair people! If you want to show that you’re the best, show it in a fair way! Don’t go spreading rumours behind them… It’s cowardice.

-+-+-+-+-

source: www.xanga.com/dawn_1o9

I don’t normally read my sister’s blog but I’m posting it for her today and since it’s about Ye’ Lay, I read it and it made me angry also. That friend also told me the same thing and Itold her that I don’t care. I remember surfing planet forum one day and saw a discussion about him so I thought about participating but after reading those posts by anti- Ye Lay members, I got angry and I’ve never been to that forum ever since. It’s just ridiclous. You can’t judge music by religion.

2 thoughts on “racists

  1. I tried to add comments on your sister’s blog. She has nice entries. But Xanga is refusing to allow me to write comments unless I register. I refused to do it and added some notes here instead 🙂

  2. I tried to add comments on your sister’s blog. She has nice entries. But Xanga is refusing to allow me to write comments unless I register. I refused to do it and added some notes here instead 🙂

Leave a Reply

