another random thoughts

I wrote this yesterday at home.

Today I attended my English class and skipped the rest of the classes and I went to my uncle’s house instead. I visited my cousin’s house first and she made me a cup of coffee. I didn’t get the chance to eat breakfast so I took out a piece of bread and started to eat my breakfast. My niece saw me eating and she said she wanted to eat so I gave her the bread. I thought she was just going to take a few bites but she didn’t return the bread to me at all. So I had to eat some cookies while my niece was eating my breakfast. My niece’s so adorable and she’s smart too. Here’s a picture of her taken last year around March.


After eating breakfast, I got bored so I went to my uncle’s house which is only 3 houses away from my cousin’s house and watched half of X-man 2. A couple of guests came by to visit so I didn’t get to finish watching the movie and instead I have to play Power Rangers for the guest’s kid to watch. These guests include a family for San Francisco who came by to visit and the husband is the Filipino or something. My relatives kept talking about how I lived abroad and they kept saying talk to the guy in English. What was I suppose to say? Hi! …How are you? I don’t even know this guy. One thing I don’t like about my relatives is that they like to brag about our family in front of guests. So whenever I visit their house and a guest came by, I started to leave before they start talking about me ‘cuz I know it’ll be the same….She lived aboard and studied for a couple of years….Oh, really….why don’t you stay there? Why dont’ you apply for a visa? Why did you come back? I am sick of answering their questions and the funny thing is they don’t care what I say. All they talk about is “she should live aboard you know… It’s a shame that you came back, etc…” I read the April issue of Fashion Image magazine today and there’s an article written by a doctor who visited America and he wrote about China Town. He mentioned that he sends his kid to International School of Yangon but he made sure that his kid live like a Myanmar at home. He wrote that there are some Myanmar kids in school who don’t know how to speak in Myanmar and they are shamed to dress like a Myanmar. Then he wrote about a kid who went to America after graduating from 5th grade and after living for three years, he forgot to speak in Myanmar. It’s kind of true. I’m not trying to pick a fight but Myanmar people who lives abroad esp kids and teenagers try to act like they aren’t Myanmar and they are ashamed to speak in Myanmar to each other. When I arrived there, I had some difficulties ‘cuz although there were Myanmar kids at school, they don’t try to help around and they all speak in English to each other, sometimes making fun of me. So I tried hard to fit in or at least improve my English and after a few years, I can speak English almost perfectly. And what did I become? I started to speak less in Myanmar and I didn’t want to speak in Myanmar to the kids and I might have given a hard time for some new kids ‘cuz I acted cold and didn’t talk to them in Myanmar. We speak in Myanmar at home and with other Myanmar adults but when I’m with the kids around my age, we all speak in English. I hang out with other Asian kids and I notice that Chinese people speak in Chinese to each other and Vietnamese people speak in Vietnamese to each other even though they can speak perfectly in English. Sometimes it drives me nuts ‘cuz I was left out of conversation between them. So my question is why are we like that? Why do we have to act like we aren’t Myanmar? Now I hardly speak in English anymore and it is awkward for me to speak in English to some foreigner. Sometimes I see some people who speak in English to each other and I tried hard not to burst out laughing. I don’t mean to criticize them but here’s an example. I went to Kitchen Mart to buy some snacks and there was 2 guys (probably younger than me) standing near the potato chips stand. One guy kept saying ‘ You want this man….” ….You want this man”. He kept adding ‘man’ after every single sentence. I got tired of hearing them and I left without buying anything. I know my pronunciation isn’t perfect either. For example, when I say the word ‘end or ending’ along with a Myanmar sentence, I pronounce it like ‘ant’ instead of what you are supposed to pronounce with a ‘d’ at the end. So people couldn’t understand me. Sometimes I have to speak like what locals speak so that others can understand. If I want to buy a “Top” magazine, I can’t pronounce it like ‘top’ with a ‘t’ sound at the start. I have to say like what others say. It’s the same thing when I buy blank cds. I always buy ‘Deny’ cds so when I ask for ‘Deny’ cds, I have to call it ‘Dany’. Everybody else call it ‘Dany’ when the correct spelling is ‘Deny’. But what can I say? If I ask for ‘Deny’ cd, they will say they don’t have it here although I can see the cds at the shop. My father says that I watch too much Korean movies and dramas and my pronunciations got worse. My mother said you should watch more English movies but all you ever rent is Korean movies. She wants to watch action movies but all we rent is fantasies, science fictions and comedies which are dirty to watch with family.

I watched half of Chicken Little tonight. I wanted to finish it but I have to stop it at 9:15 pm ‘cuz my mother and my cousin wanted to watch 9pm kdrama and then the electricity went out at 9:40 pm. It came back at 10:40 pm and went out at 11:00 pm. Lately it’s been like that. You can’t expect it to come without going out before 11:00 pm on electricity day (how will u call it?).

2 thoughts on “another random thoughts

  1. I totally agree with you about languages. English is needed because it’s the International language. However, we should not forget other languages for the sake of knowledge. I am enjoying research in Burmese, Mon, Karen and Shan.

    Hey, I admire you for going back to Burma after studying abroad ๐Ÿ™‚ I had to answer the same question about why I went back to Burma after studying in the US. So I shared your pain! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Congratulations for your decision no matter what others say ๐Ÿ™‚

    Best,
    Lwin Moe

  2. I totally agree with you about languages. English is needed because it’s the International language. However, we should not forget other languages for the sake of knowledge. I am enjoying research in Burmese, Mon, Karen and Shan.

    Hey, I admire you for going back to Burma after studying abroad ๐Ÿ™‚ I had to answer the same question about why I went back to Burma after studying in the US. So I shared your pain! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Congratulations for your decision no matter what others say ๐Ÿ™‚

    Best,
    Lwin Moe

Leave a Reply

