2006 Youth Camp for Asia’s Future

2006 Youth Camp for Asia’s Future will be held in Seoul, Korea from 7th – 27th August 2006. 200 youths from 17 Asian countries will take part in Youth Camp.

Any Myanmar high school student or university student age ranging between 17 and 24 are eligible to apply for the Youth Camp. Applicants should be proficient in English. Priority will be given to those applicants who are either currently studying or have studied subjects pertaining to Korean culture; and have professional skills in Myanmar traditional and local popular culture, and modern arts. The Embassy of the Republic of Korea will select 10 candidates out of all applicants. The selected candidates’ returned airfare, board, lodging and transportation will be provided.

The above paragraph is taken from the information sheet that I obtained from the Korean Embassy yesterday. I found out about the youth camp from Myanmar Times and after I read it, I knew I must try hard to go there. I couldn’t even sleep that night. I kept daydreaming about what I’ll do when I arrive in Korea. So yesterday I went to the embassy and they gave me the application form along with the requirement paper and schedule. I have to fill in the form and hand it along with an essay on one of the topic they gave, writing around 700 words to 1000 words, along with other require papers. The schedule is pretty interesting. The candidates will be able to learn Korean, watch Korean traditional culture show, visit historical sites, and participate in group activities, festival and their Independence Day ceremony. What I really like among the schedule is that there’ll be a visit to a film studio and meet Korean celebrities. Wow…I wonder how we’ll get to me. (Notice the word we…I’m still dreaming that I’ll be one of the candidates.)

The application form is simple and there are 6 questions and some of them are easy like

What are some of the things you know about Korea?
Of course I know about Korea. I watch too many dramas and movies. I can say a lot of things just by watching Goong but the fill in box aren’t that large enough so I’ll have to watch my words. I’m thinking about writing about their traditional marriage ceremonies. I’m interested in it after watching it on Goong. I only knew a little bit about it after watching Sweet 18 and Marrying a High School Girl but Goong taught me a lot more.

The difficult questions are

Describe any special talent or skills you have which is related to Korean culture or art or language?
I don’t think watching dramas and listening to music counts for this question. I wish I had started learning Korean so that I can at least write about it. I wanted to but I couldn’t learn it due to some reasons. I downloaded some audio files which teaches Korean maybe I can write that I’m self-studying it. Yeah, I am doing so by watching dramas and listening to their speeches and seeing if I can recognize them

Describe any special talent or skills you have which is related to your culture and/or tradition?

Eek. How do I answer this question? I have absolutely nothing to do with Myanmar culture or tradition at all. The only thing I know is about computers and I’m not a professional at it. But in the other information sheet, it said
Priority will be given to those applicants who are either currently studying or have studied subjects pertaining to Korean culture; and have professional skills in their traditional and local popular culture and modern arts (eg. Traditional or modern instruments, fashion, movies, make-up, etc).
So maybe I can come up with something that has to do with modern arts. Maybe I might have some talents which are hidden from me and I don’t notice it (dream on!)

I’m not that much worry about the word count limits on the essay. I used to write essays which are always around 2 A4 pages. I had to write them for school and sometimes I enter essay contests if I am familiar with the topic. I never won anything through. Now if I’m going to write an essay, my brain doesn’t work like it used to anymore. I think it got ruined during the 10th grade exam. My tutor told me not to write over one page and to write clearly without using cursive. So after that I haven’t been writing essays over one page and my handwriting is so childish. At least I can type the essay. My friend said you can turn in the typed version also. I’ll have to search on the net to research for the essay. I have chosen 2 topics and one of them has something to do with Asia. I’m glad that I took the PSD exam for MOFA ‘cuz I wrote an essay about relationships between Asian countries so I can take some of the data from that essay and add more data. I just hope that I can find enough time to do my research ‘cuz I’m so busy with work now.

I’m a bit worried about the passport ‘cuz the deadline (which is on the 24th) and the arrival date to Korea are so close but I’m not thinking about it now. I’ll concentrate on the essay instead.

Aja! Aja! Fighting!

Blogged with Flock

2 thoughts on “2006 Youth Camp for Asia’s Future

  1. I hope you get a chance to go to Korea 🙂
    All the best, LM

    P.S. I just read your post today because I was in Myanmar and haven’t been online for a while.

  2. I hope you get a chance to go to Korea 🙂
    All the best, LM

    P.S. I just read your post today because I was in Myanmar and haven’t been online for a while.

Leave a Reply

