Old Myanmar Movies are showing back on MRTV

It has been awhile since MRTV stopped airing old Myanmar movies on Sunday afternoon but starting from last week, they started showing them back. A week before, “Ta Kyawt Hna Kyawt Tae Ko Thi” starring Win Oo, Tin Tin Mya and Cho Pyone was aired on TV. I already have watched that movie several times ‘cuz I like Win Oo but I learned about it too late so I didn’t get a chance to do that. Last Sunday I watched “Aw Main Ma Main Ma” starring Nyunt Win and Cho Pyone. I was planning to watch it at first. I was watching a Viva video magazine vcd about the Korean celebs visiting Myanmar and the first anniversary of Htoo Eain Thin’s death. I switched back to TV afterward and “My Girl and I” was on air on MWD. I haven’t watch that movie but I plan to watch it with subtitles so I went to downstairs and ate lunch while watching the Myanmar movie. When I was younger, I used to hate it when old Myanmar movies always aired on Sunday afternoons. I used to wish that newer movies would be aired instead but when they stopped airing old movies and started airing Myanmar videos, I hated watching them and wished that they would air old movies again. I remember reading in the newspaper about someone requesting MRTV to air old movies again. I got a bit bored while watching the movie but I managed to finish till the end. I wonder what movie will be aired next week. I want to watch Win Oo movies. I don’t like musical movies where the actors and actresses kept singing songs in the whole movie but I like hearing Win Oo’s songs. I want to watch “Mone Shwe Yi” and “Maung Doe Cherry Myay”.

10 thoughts on “Old Myanmar Movies are showing back on MRTV

  1. Some of Myanmar Oldies are in online, I think. Now I am looking for Myanmar Oldies….If you can upload some of these, I will appreciate heartily.

  2. Do many older Myanmar films still exist? I would be very interested in knowing some titles, particularly of older ghost/horror stories.
    If there is a place where I can buy those on VCD, that would be fantastic! Please let me know.

    • I don’t think they are up for sale. They are rarely aired on TV now. All I know is that sometimes they are uploaded on burmeseclassic website after they are aired on MRTV.

      I have never seen any old ghost/horror movie on TV. I want to see why people get scared when watching those black & white movies like “Tar Tay Gyi” and others.

      • The black and white horror movies I had watched are “The Hunchback of Notre Dame”, and perhaps the first great horror movie “The Phantom of The Opera” with Lon Chaney.
        Also there was Dracula and Frankenstein. In west, they keep the copies of the films in good shape or they do good restoration so that black and white movies are still coming up on the TV channels; after being digitalized from the analogue. I am very impressed some of the old black and white Burmese movies are now on You Tube. Congratulations to the Burmese movie industry.
        Who is Tar Tay Gyi ? By the way. I had heard about that but I have no idea who he was.

      • I only heard the name “Tar Tay Gyi” from my parents. Back in their days, movies with Tar Tay Gyi and another female ghost were quite popular. If these movies survived in this era, I think they will be very funny instead of being scary.

      • ha ha I liked the way you used the word survived. One time my mom told me the neighbors’ children played like Tar Tay Lan! I wonder it is related to Tar Tay Gyi. I miss my mom, she lives in Rangoon. Sorry, I should not say this to you since you had lost your mom.

  3. ေခတ္ေဟာင္းဇာတ္ကားမ်ားကို ၾကိ ုက္ႏွစ္သက္ပါတယ္။ အထူသျဖင့္ဦး၀င္းဦး ရဲ ့’ ခ်စ္သူေရြးမယ္ခ်စ္၀ဲ လည္’ ကိုေပါ့ ေနာက္ထပ္ၾကည့္ခ်င္ပါေသးတယ္ ။ျမန္မာ့အသံမွာျပန္္လႊင့္ေပးပါ။တကယ္လို ့ရႏုိင္မယ္ဆိုရင္ ေခြပါလိုခ်င္လို့ပါ။(သိမ္းဆည္းထားရန္အတြက္သာ)

    • MRTV aired ခ်စ္သူေရြးမယ္ခ်စ္၀ဲလည္ a couple of weeks ago. I only have three old movies, မံႈေရႊရည္, ေမာင္တို႕ခ်ယ္ရီေျမ, and ေနျခည္ျဖာမွေႏြးေသာေၾကာင့္, but the quality is pretty low. I can only watch on the computer.

Leave a Reply

