My View about Myanmar Music

Some people from online tell me that they like the way I express myself truthfully. Well, that’s me. When I write, I always write whatever that’s on mind. Since I’m into entertainment, I always write about them. I used to write about Korean entertainment a lot but I decided to write about Myanmar entertainment also ‘cuz of the Myanmar people who surf my blog hoping to read some Myanmar news. So whenever I watch a movie, listen to a new album or watch a vcd. I write a short review, saying what I like and what I don’t like. I never meant to offend anyone with my posts.

My blog is not a place for gossips so I never write gossips at my blog. I judge a singer by his/her singing ability and music style and an actor/actress by her acting, character role, etc. I don’t know any of them personally nor intend to know them at all. I’m just stating my view. Mostly I try to refrain myself from bad mouthing people. Just because I don’t like someone, I don’t want to write bad things about him/her ‘cuz the person who might be reading could be his/her fan. I only write good things about people ‘cuz I don’t have time to write about who I dislike and stuff.

Now someone commented on one of my post and I got angry about it. I keep saying to myself, What did I do so wrong to offend anyone? I wrote about copy songs and who doesn’t sing them but I wasn’t offending the singer. I wouldn’t have write about him if I didn’t like him in the fist place. Own tune singer? pls give me a break…you can count how many own tune singers are in Myanmar but how can you be sure that they didn’t copy of anybody’s music or idea? I don’t want to write about Myanmar music world in English but I’m ashamed to admit about it in front of non-Myanmar people.

I used to listen to most of the albums that were released in Myanmar. I don’t buy all of them but I rent them from a store and borrow from friends to sample the music. When hip-hop became famous in Myanmar, my sister and I bought almost all the hip-hop albums that came out. At that time, we were ready to give support for any singer who sings hip-hop. Most of the albums we bought were good and there were only a few albums that we didn’t like. But now when a new hip-hop album comes out, I’m pretty skeptical about buying it. I will only think about buying it if that album features famous or known singers. I couldn’t give my support to newcomers anymore. When I hear people singing those songs by newcomers, I felt quite funny but I couldn’t stand a minute listening to those kind of songs. You can’t just take a pop songs that you used to hear people singing with a guitar, add some chessy raps and call it hip-hop.

The kind of music I like is hard to find among Myanmar singers. I like eastern hip-hop style, r&b and pop songs like ballad songs. When I want to listen to hip-hop, I listen to Sai Sai, Ye Lay, Theory and J-Me. Although some singers do sing r&b, they don’t sing them all the time. I listen to Rebecca Win, Ye Lay and Zam Nu for r&b. I think it’ hard to find own tune ballad songs in Myanmar. I still haven’t hear anyone singing own tune ballad songs in the style of Korean ballad. I think you call call “A Hnie Mae” and “Min A Twat” songs ballad.

I have been posting some news articles in my blog (mostly in Myanmar). If anyone from the journal want me to remove the article, you can mail me directly and tell me to do so. If I find some nice articles and I have time, I will try to translate them but I know there are Myanmar people who live aboard since childhood and they couldn’t read in Myanmar although they can understand the language.
One thought on “My View about Myanmar Music

  1. Hello!
    Very Interesting post! Thank you for such interesting resource!
    PS: Sorry for my bad english, I’v just started to learn this language 😉
    See you!
    Your, Raiul Baztepo

Leave a Reply

