Tazaungmone Festival

One of the reason I like November is due to the holidays. Full moon day of Tazaungmone fell on last Saturday so our office was closed once again. Too bad it didn’t fell on Friday. I could probably get a 3 days vacation instead of 2 :(.

Most people will probably go to pagodas and monasteries on the full moon day but I stayed at home as usual until evening. My uncle and his family visited in the morning and after the guests are gone, I watched a few minutes of Heroes until the electricity went out. Yep, it’s that time again, Electricity has been going out in routine from 11 am to 5 pm and 5pm to 11 am. I was frustrated but there was nothing else to do so I ate lunch and read “My Beloved Earth” by Jue. It’s a collection of articles related to environmental issues which were featured in a magazine long time ago. The articles are interesting but I was getting sleepy and I didn’t finish reading it.

In the evening I went to my uncles house to eat mohingar. I do admit that I am a picky eater and I don’t like most mohingar so as expected, I didn’t like the food but kept my opinion to myself ‘cuz everyone else were enjoying them. The only mohingar I actually like eating is the pepper mohingar from Kyauk Myaung. I still haven’t find the exact location of the food stall so I can only eat it when my father’s friend bring them over occasionally.

The next day, I woke up late due to watching Time of Wolf & Dog till midnight. I did my laundry and rip the drama from the dvd to my pc while reading an e-book as the subs were no longer in proper English. I spent the whole day doing nothing much as usual. In the evening, I went to a nearby street fair with my cousin and neighbors. The fair is called “Nirvana Market”. A couple of houses volunterred to participate in the fair and set up little stands in front of their houses and give food to those who come up with the right numbers on the tickets. I got 11 tickets so we have to walk back and forth down the street looking for the food stands with the numbers. Among all the foods that I receive, I really liked Shwe Taung noodle the most.

One thought on “Tazaungmone Festival

Leave a Reply

