G-dragon – Heartbreaker

G-dragon’s first album was released on August 18, on this 21st birthday.

Lately, he has been accused to plagiarizing in his songs “Heartbreaker” and “Butterfly”. Since this is only an album review, I have no desire to discuss those issues.

There are 10 tracks in the album and he’s currently promoting the second track, “Hearbreaker”. He has already two music videos so far, “Heartbreaker” and “Breathe”. Although all his songs are related to hip-hop, like Big Bang songs, most of them are influenced by electro and techno. Aside from “She’s Gone”, I like the rest of the songs.

01. Boy
Quite different from the intro (or) first songs I hear in Myanmar hip-hop albums, but then again, it’s GD after all.

02. Heartbreaker
Will I ever get tired of this? Nah..I don’t think so.

03. Breathe
I can’t differentiate whether the lyric is supposed to be “I Can Breathe” or “I Cant’ Breathe”. I think “I Cant’ Breathe” is more suitable with the rest of the lyrics, but I can only hear “I Can Breathe”.

04. Butterfly (Feat. Jin Jung)
Makes you want to think of your first love if you have one….quite slow yet nice…

05. Hello (Feat. Dara)
In this song, GD teaches how to get a girl. Dara from 2NE1 featured in this song.

06. Gossip Man (Feat. Kim Gun Mo)
Actually, this is the first song I listened to since it was written about his hardships regarding rumors and gossips about him. It’s also my favorite song on the whole album. I love Kim Gun Mo’s voice.

07. Korean Dream (Feat. TaeYang)
Truthfully, I don’t get the main idea of this song. Perhaps, the lyric translations are a bit confusing for me to understand. But the songs is a really good one, aside from his cursing. And of course, Tae Yang featured in the song.

08. The Leaders (Feat. Teddy, CL)
Quite different from the rest of the songs, this is a true, pure hip-hop song featuring Teddy and CL.

09. She’s Gone (Feat. KUSH)
I like the rapping but the chorus is too noisy for me.

10. 1년 정거장 (Station 1 year)
Kind of reminds me of Oh My Friend but it’s not exactly like that also. I am no music expert to say what kind of song this is.

Overall, the album is a really good one. I started listening to this before my exam started and it was quite difficult to focus on my study as my mind kept replying the songs over and over again. I can’t even listen to any other albums especially the most recent released by Ye’ Lay ‘cuz I can’t get enough of GD.

Leave a Reply

