Craving Old Movies & Music


A scene from “Our Cherry Land”

When I was a child, I used to thought that my parents used to lived in a black and white world like in those old movies on TV, kinda of like in Pleasantville although I have never seen it before. I only saw the movie trailer. I think I had wrote about old Myanmar movies before. Well, this time it’s not about them.

Right now, I’m in the mood for old English movies. It started after watching “Roman Holiday” with Gregory Peck and Audrey Hepburn. I rented it ‘cuz I thought that it was the original film of “Our Cherry Land (ေမာင္တိ္ု့ခ်ယ္ရီေျမ). Although it’s not the Myanmar film’s original, it still was enjoyable to watch. Next time I go to the library, I will surely rent more films with Audrey Hepburn..

A couple of months ago, I watched the musical movie,”Across the Universe”, based on the Beatles’s songs,. Ever since then, I’ve been in the mood for The Beatles songs. I can’t believe so many of their songs were copied by our Myanmar artists. I know I shouldn’t be surprised, given to the fact that they are still singing copy songs. For instance, the song “Come Together” was covered by Min Min Latt in “Upstaris and Downstair Story (အေပာှထပ္နွင့္ ေအာက္ထပ္ဇာတ္လမ္း)”. I’ve never heard MML’s version and I only heard that song in Zaw Win Htut’s “Say Soe Pan Yike Myat Hnar” album. I later fond out that it was a cover song, but I didn’t think it was a song by the Bealtes. I was thinking it was some other rock band from the 70s.

So far, I have only the songs from Across the Universe soundtrack. I’ve been trying to find The Beatles albums in Yangon, but so far I’ve no success. My father said he used to own their records, but he threw them away due to fungus. He told me that he’ll try to copy the songs from his work, but I’m going have to remind him several times before he bring them home. I can only find some songs on Zing. I’ve also watched their “A Hard Day’s Night”, thinking that it was their concert dvd, but instead to my disappointment, it was a film similar to Spice Girls’ “Spice World”. At least the soundtrack is nice.

I also enjoy listening to ABBA. My sister has a collection of the original ABBA songs that appeared in “Mama Mia” soundtrack. Again, I must say Myanmar singers have covered some of their songs. “Super Trooper” was covered by L Khun Yi and later Haymar Nay Win in “Hnin Si Ko Ko”. For years, I have enjoyed these cover songs, not knowing that about their origins. I’m not blaming them or anything. I still like “Hnin Si Ko Ko” because of its lyrics.

Perhaps I should also check out Bonny M, which is in my sister’s album collections.

The original film of Our Cherryland is “Mardi Gras”, a 1958 film. Thanks for the info Ko Kalvin & Ko Boyz.

Leave a Reply

