My New Job

Starting from last week, I’ve started working as a part-time assistant teacher for a private school on the weekends. The school is quite near my home so I don’t have to get up early to get to school. I usually wake up around 6:30 – 7:00 a.m and leave home around 8:00 a.m. So far, my father has been driving me to work so I can leave at 8:15 and get there in 5 minutes.

Compared to my previous work, I feel more relaxed here. Since I’m an assistant, I’m not required to teach, but I have to assist the teacher by controlling the class (which I’m still doing badly at the moment). It’s better to be in the second position and learn from the expert instead of having to suddenly teach 20 kids without any single experience. I don’t have to babysit the students during recess or while they are in the computer room. I don’t have to wait in front of the school for the students to arrive. I can go into the classroom immediately and leave together with them right after 4pm. I really hate having to welcome the students by opening the car doors for them. I mean, I’m a teacher, okay assistant teacher, but I’m not their servant.

I’m handling students who are mostly around the age of seven so who knows, maybe some day, I might be singing nursey rhymes along with the kids and even en-acting along with the lyrics, but so far just the very thought gives me goosebumps.

I wonder how much I’ll get for my salary. Call me stupid, but I forgot to discuss about it during my interview. I know that it will be low, but will I even get the figure I’ve written down for expected salary? I very much doubt it. Even if my salary is low, I’ll still be working because I need the experience. I don’t want to graduate with a master degree without having any teaching experiences at a school.

5 thoughts on “My New Job

  1. So teachers have to greet the kids? They as an educators are sending wrong messages to the kids and spoiling them to become a morally arrogant brats.

    I predict that you will not last long there… if and when you want to work in non-profit(NGOs) I can introduce you to some of my friends. No gurantee but it’s part of networking, right?

    As far as Salary goes: although you did not asked, employer have to disclosed your salary. We Burmese are great at being vague 🙂

    Enjoy while you are there. Good to read your blog again.

    HAK

    • Thanks for the offer, but I’m not interested in working for NGOs. I don’t like desk jobs. I know that I won’t last long here, but I’m mainly working for teaching experience so that I can apply to a better school after I get my master degree.

  2. Actually, some schools here in the US require the teachers to do the same – ie opening car doors in the car pool line. It’s not because they are subservient to the kids though. It’s more efficient in the car pool if the teacher guides the kids to get in so they won’t linger or be unsafe and wander off. Don’t know if this will ease your mind but thought to let you know. Parents like me really appreciate that gesture because for us also, we don’t get trapped inside the small parking lot but just get in line and get out efficiently.

    • Yeah, you have a point there. That’s actually the reason why we had to greet them, but it annoyed me that it’s a ‘must’ for almost all teachers to do that while we have several other things to take care of. Actually, I had more to say, but I decided not to write them ‘cuz I didn’t want to talk negatively of my previous job. During the weekends, I hated having to follow the kids around the neighborhood of the school (‘cuz the school didn’t have a yard, it’s an apartment) while they buy snacks. I had to follow them, but at the same time I have to look after the students who were left in the classroom. If they are playful and going around the school, I am put to blame. I am more angry that I had an assistant teacher who was pregnant and didn’t bother to help me at all.

      That’s enough now. I don’t want to get angry over past events anymore.

  3. I disagree with the first commenter 😛 Just saying..teachers greeting the kids won’t make them become arrogant brats. This shows that the school cares and pays close attention to kids which is a good thing. It’s the parents’ teaching the kids that they don’t need to respect others that make the kids arrogant.

Leave a Reply

