Myanmar Idol

A new singing contest program titled “Myanmar Idol” will be aired on MRTV on July 19 at 5:30 p.m. In this new program, twenty-four contests, who have passed the preliminary sound checking or audition, will be competing by singing A Tin Cho Swe’s songs.

The twenty-four contestants will be divided into 6 groups with 4 people in each groups and the best contestant from each group will be selected for the final stage. In this stage, the six remaining contestants will have to compete for become the Vocal Star, who would have the chance to sing a duet with A Tin in the coming album from this program.A Tin will be acting as one of the judges in the contest.This is the second program by Laser World Company and the first program was a singing contest on Naw Naww songs.

Comments:

I remember seeing the billboard poster for that Naw Naww singing contest and I thought the name ‘Myanmar Idol’ was inappropriate because the contestants are only competing in singing songs by a single person, unlike American Idol. The first singing contest wasn’t aired on TV, and so I’m kind of looking forward to the new program. Truthfully, I don’t watch such kind of programs on TV, mainly because I am uninterested in hearing people who sound nearly like famous singers. Also, such kind of singing contests actually encourage plagiarizing because most of the songs sang are covered songs. If you listen to the Melody World music albums, you will notice that all of the songs (I think) are newly written, but none are original. Nobody bother to sing R&B or anything else at the contest. It was the same old pop and rock songs. I wonder how the judges will react if the contestant decided to sing a different version of a well-know song, kind of like Adam Lambert changing a disco song into a ballad in “If I Had You”, which btw is one of my favorite song among the songs he sang in American Idol.

I have never really watched American Idol before as it is only available on the satellite channel. I wasn’t even interested in that show until last year when I stumble upon the songs by Adam Lambert and Kris Allen. I saw American Idol DVDs in Chinatown, but I was only interested in season 8 and it wasn’t available.

Ref: The Myanmar Times

3 thoughts on “Myanmar Idol

  1. You get American Idol DVDs at Chinatown?!!!!! Are those like, real, legal DVDs? Too bad no season 8 though. I’m only interested in season 8 too.

    And yeah, Adam’s If I Can’t Have You is GOLD ! (Not to be mistaken with If I Had You, which is an up-tempo song in his debut album For Your Entertainment) 🙂

    • Actually, you can’t buy any original CDs or DVDs in here. Everything is pirated. So, the American Idol series is also a pirated version imported from China.

Leave a Reply

