Exam Invigilating

For the first time ever in my life, I have started to pity the teachers who were assigned to act as invigilators during the exams because that’s what I had to do last weekend. I had to stand outside in the hallways and watch over four classes. As I paced back and forth in the hallway, I asked myself why the heck am I pacing back and forth and the only answer I could come up is that that’s what other teachers do while they had to act as invigilators – pace back and forth. I got a lot of free time on my own, but I was bored most of the times and my legs hurt from standing too long. So, when I decided to sit down for awhile, I got ask to accompany students to the toilet. That was the only thing that kept me out of my pacing routine and boy – and I really mean boys, they sure do like to go to the toilet a lot.

The first day was not all that bad because I only had to wait for 2 hours outside the hallway and then wait inside the hall with the students (and their parents) for their next exam. Thankfully, I could leave after 1 p.m, but because I decided to apply for leave on the last week of this month, I had to wait 45 minutes for the principal’s signature. It makes me not want to take leave again because if there’s one thing I hate doing the most, it’s waiting.

The second day was more tiring because I had to wait in the morning and in the afternoon. I envied my friends who could leave after noon. I was hoping I could leave early also because I wanted to attend a wedding at Traders, but I could only leave after 2 pm. For the first time ever, I hate 2 pm.

Since I had nothing to do while I paced back and forth during the exam hours, I thought about many things including memories about my past exam experiences. I clearly remember the day I sat for the English subject during the 10th standard exam. On that day, I was surrounded by 3 teachers because they all couldn’t believe that I was doing so well on the exam while it is a subject which is mostly feared by many students. One was looking from the front side, the next one was looking from behind my shoulder and the other one was looking at me from the window. One even flipped my papers, hoping to catch me in the act of cheating. Of course, they couldn’t possibly know that I had came back from the States four months ago. It was the only subject I did well on anyway although I didn’t receive any distinctions 😦

Oh, well, there is one good thing that came out from sitting in that noisy hall with the students because someone approached me and asked me to tutor her niece. She said her niece is doing badly in class and she really needs a tutor. Now, that’s the kind of student I want to teach – someone who really needs my help. She also wants me to tutor her nephew, who can follow the lessons, but doesn’t get good grades. I was reluctant to agree to teach him at first because of my past tutoring experiences. But, I think I’ll teach him also, but I want to earn more money. School will start again next month and since I spend more that I earn, it would be nice to earn extra money. The only bad thing is I would come home late after 6:30 pm or 7 pm and it could be difficult to catch a bus which is not too crowded. The only thing I worry about is Math – it won’t be that difficult since he’s in the lower grade, but still I don’t know the methods they use at school. Oh, well, as the saying goes in Myanmar, I will have to act according to the circumstances (မီးစင္ၾကည့္က).

Leave a Reply

