3rd Book Buffet

Yup, it’s the time again for another book buffet at Myanmar Book Center. This time, the event stars from 10.1.11 (Mon) to 16.1.11 (Sun). Even though it started on a weekday but that didn’t stop us from going, of course. We decided to go to shop 1 in Alone Township this time although it was quite far from our home. But it was really worth paying the taxi fee because we got to choose from a wide range of books. There were so many books piled, or heaped to be more exact, on a couple of tables and it was really not convenient for us because we have to take them out one by one and then pile them up again. It really sucks that the books we are interested in are at the bottom of the piles and if we hadn’t look thoroughly, we would have missed them. It would have been better if the books were piled vertically so that we can read the book titles and authors’ names.

We ended up buying 20,000 kyats worth of books this time because I had some money left over from the tuition fee last month.

What we bought at the book buffet

Here is the list of the books we bought yesterday.

Fiction

J. K. Rowling – Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone
C. S. Lewis – The Lion, the Witch And the Wardrobe
Dan Brown – Digital Fortress
Nicholas Sparks – Nights in Rodanthe
John Grisham – The Partner
Jeffery Deaver – The Bone Collector
Johanna Spyri – Heidi
Louisa May Alcott – Little Women
Ellen Raskin – The Westing Game
Tamora Pierce – Alanna The First Adventure : Song of the Lioness
Dawson’s Creek – Calm Before the Storm
Scott O’ Dell – Island of the Blue DolphinsIwan McEwan – Atonement
A. S. Bylatt – Possession
Sophie Kinsella – Shopaholic Ties the Knot
Ken Follett – Code to Zero
Beverly Cleary – Ramona the Brave
K. A. Applegate – The Andalite Chronicles

Non-fiction

A Student’s Dictionary & Gazetteer, 11th Edition
Everyday Mathematics – Cumulative Practice Sets
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
The Reader’s Corner – Essays for Developing Readers
Portfolio Assessment in the Reading-Writing Classroom
Language Handbook Worksheets
Understanding British English
My Picture Book of the Planets
Natural Cures And Gentle Medicines
The Rough Guide Phrasebook – Mexican Spanish
1,000 Places to See Before You Die

Although I already own Harry Potter 1, it was a bootleg version so I decided to buy the original one. Too bad there weren’t more HP books. I even thought about checking out at shop 2, but then I don’t have any money to spare now :(. My sister also wanted The Digital Fortress book even though we have it at home because the book is different from our old one, with bigger font sizes.

Seeing The Island of the Blue Dolphins and Alanna bring back good memories of my childhood. I had to read The Island of the Blue Dolphins back in 6th grade Reading class. I remember drawing a picture of the girl wearing a skirt made of bird feathers once for class. I started reading fantasy novels in 8th grade after reading this book called ‘Calling On Dragons’, which I used to own, but had lost it after I moved back to Yangon. After finishing that trilogy about dragons, I started reading Alanna books next.

Even though I was into fantasy, I didn’t read any C.S. Lewis novels until after watching the movie. Even then, I got bored half way while reading because I already knew the story. I only began to like the series after reading Prince Caspian, which is also my favorite one in the series. Now, I own three books in the series and I think I’ll give the second book a try again.

Originally, I intended to check out some picture books for children like Magic School Bus series, but I ended up taking only one because our bags were full already. I wish I had taken at least one or two Magic School Bus books. When I was in 9th grade, a friend confided to me that he learnt about science not from school, but from watching Magic School Bus cartoon on TV. It’s too bad that this series is not aired in Myanmar. I would rather have the kids watch them and learn something instead of those stupid and annoying Chinese or Korean cartoons on TV.

One thought on “3rd Book Buffet

Leave a Reply

