Time Clock = Time Eater

In Wikipedia, a time clock is defined as a mechanical (or electronic) timepiece used to assist in tracking the hours an employee of a company worked. I would like to define it as a time eater because today it ate four minutes of my time.

My office hour starts at 9:15 a.m. This morning, I arrived to work at 9:13 a.m, but on my timesheet, it is marked as 9:17 a.m. in red color. Red color is used to indicate that I’m late or I leave work earlier than I’m supposed to. I complained to the receptionist, who checked her watch and told me that the machine was correct.

Confused, I rode the elevator to my floor, but I decided to check the time on my mobile phone and it was still only 9:13 a.m. I asked one of my colleague to make sure and they told me that I was not late.

I went downstairs again and told the receptionists to change the time on my timesheet. They refused at first, and told me that I should discuss it with the person who set the time on the machine. Finally, one of them told me that she’ll correct the timesheet, probably because she thought I was annoying.

I was already in a foul mood even before reaching the office due to some annoyance at home. I think I took out some of my anger on them. Now, I feel bad that I argued with them. It’s not their fault that the machine stole four minutes of my time.

I wish I can complain to the office, but I don’t know who to complain to. This isn’t the first time the time clock display incorrect time. It used to display the time at a later time than this, but at least there wasn’t any red ink on the sheet. I don’t know what will happen if there are too many red inks on my timesheet, but I don’t want to find out.

Now, I have reset the time on my watch so that it is four minutes earlier than the standard time. I don’t want to have to argue with the receptionists all the time.

Credit pic: Clipart from Clipartheaven.com

3 thoughts on “Time Clock = Time Eater

  1. I hope it stays consistently ahead if it’s going to do that. I mean could you leave 4 mins earlier then? If so you just need to adjust your time but if it is not, you lost 8 mins! In my old timetracker ( as it is called at my place) it rounds up to the next fifteen mins or something like that depending on when you log in. I never understood how it was figuring things out but some people did and were able to play the system.

  2. At my last job in Australia, we get to fill our own timesheets online. This can be done at any time before the deadline, so you could fill two weeks of timesheet in one day, if you wanted to. When the supervisor approves it, the pay is credited to the employee’s bank account. It’s really convenient, though obviously there is the opportunity for fraud. Saves us the problems of a dodgy time clock, though.

    Most of my colleagues are usually late by 15 minutes or so. But the superiors are happy as long as we deliver quality work.

  3. Ask if they can install a program to track when people log in to their computers. A timestamp machine seems unfair and outdated. Great blog though, its a whole different image of Myanmar. Best from Denmark 🙂

Leave a Reply

