Daily Prompt: Earworm | We Used to be Friends

My sister and I have been re-watching Veronica Mars Season 1 since two days ago and the theme song “We Used to be Friends” by The Dandy Warhols have been quite stuck in my head.

A long time ago, we used to be friends
But I haven’t thought of you lately at all
If ever again, a greeting I send to you,
Short and sweet to the soul is all I intend.

The lyric makes me think about friends I haven’t keep in touch with for quite a while now. I usually associate my friends into three categories, online friends, normal friends and online friends who I consider as real friends. What I mean by ‘real friends’ is friends I met outside, from work, school, etc. While I often meet with ‘online friends who I consider as real friends’ once or twice a month, it’s been quite awhile since I met with any of my normal friends.

Next week, I might be meeting with my former classmates from Diploma in English class for our annual reunion. What’s ironic is that most of the classmates who will come to the reunion are those I wasn’t quite close with in the class, but those I was close to will not come to meeting.

Compared to this diploma class, I’m more close to my classmates from MA class. It’s so difficult to meet with them after our university days are over. Maybe I will organize some kind of reunion for us. I just hope most of them will come. Whenever I organize something with me in the past, most of them rarely come.

Leave a Reply

