Myanmar Blogger Society’s 7th Anniversary

Six years ago, I was invited by Ko NLS to participate in “Why Do We Blog” seminar. At that time, I have been blogging for about two years but I still didn’t know much about blogging and I didn’t really know any other bloggers besides the ones I knew from Native Myanmar forum.

I don’t remember much about the whole seminar and thank god I blogged about it because I was able to recall my memory about the event. I just remember a few things like meeting some of the bloggers who I became friends with over the years and the guys singing Naga Ni (Red Dragon) song during the dinner party.

Even though I sometimes meet my blogger friends in other places like Bar Camp, I really didn’t get a chance to participate in any of the blogger celebrations until this year. So, I was looking forward to reuniting with my blogger friends and listen to the presentations.

Image

(Photo – Myanmar Blogger Society)

Myanmar Blogger Society’s 7th anniversary Forum was held yesterday from 2pm to 5 pm. I arrived before 2 pm, filled in the survey form and received a T-shirt and a notepad and sticker from Squar. When I was filling the form, I got pretty confused when I was asked to fill the year I started blogging. At that time, I really couldn’t remember. (Now I’ve checked back on my blog and yes, I have been blogging since 2005 and my other blog, the Myanmar version, was started in 2006.)

Anyway, the forum started with an introductory speech by Ko Zaw Zaw Myo Lwin. Ko Zaw Thurein Htun gave a nice presentation about the new telecommunication bill, which has recently been approved by the Upper House. He highlighted the penalties the users will have to face if they break the law and said the maximum prison sentence has been reduced from fifteen years to three years.

The rest of the presentations were given by Ko Linn Oo (Psychology), Squar, the Canadian ambassador, and Lithan University. As I have been attending IR classes at Yangon University, I was pretty interested in the Canadian embassy using social media to promote Canada and provide information while collecting information from all the feedback and comments, including the negative ones.

Later on, the debate section on freedom of expression was held between the speakers and the audience. Then, the speakers and other bloggers including me were asked to say something about the forum. I didn’t really know what to say so I just rambled about this was the second time I get to participate in the blogger event and how I have started blogging again these days.

There was also a lucky draw program for some umbrellas, dinner tickets, and air tickets from Bangkok Airways. When we registered at the desk before getting in the room, each of us were given a number and the organizers picked some numbers for the lucky draw. Normally, I rarely get chosen during lucky draws, but my number was picked as one of the lucky guests for the dinner with bloggers. Unfortunately, I had to work the night shift at work so I pretended that I wasn’t there 😦

I noticed that some of my blogger friends weren’t at the forum. I think they were out of town and couldn’t make it to the forum. It’s a shame because I kind of expected the forum to be a reunion between us, the old bloggers.

4 thoughts on “Myanmar Blogger Society’s 7th Anniversary

  1. Appreciating the dedication you put into your blog and
    in depth information you present. It’s good to come across a blog every
    once in a while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed material.
    Excellent read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including
    your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  2. I do not know if it’s just me or if everyone else encountering issues with your blog.

    It appears as though some of the text within your content are running off the screen. Can someone else please comment and let me know if this is happening to them as well?
    This may be a issue with my web browser because I’ve had
    this happen previously. Kudos

Leave a Reply

